Ice Cream on par with Stone Cold…

homemade ice cream with fresh blackberries

I got this… stone cold. (sorry, couldn’t resist) 😛

My family loves ice cream. When I say that, I don’t just mean in the normal context of “I scream, you scream, we all scream for ice cream”.  I mean: my family are ice cream snobs of the first order, extremely picky, and would (if I let them) consume gross and vast quantities of ice cream daily. Lucky for their waistlines I don’t let that happen, but I do think ice cream now & then on a hot summer day can be THE BOMB, especially when it’s homemade & you’ve poured a little labor & love into it & top it with fresh fruit.

Knowing this, my family bought me an ice cream/sorbet & gelato machine for my birthday this year. (Personally I think that was their very sly and wicked way to bribe me to make ice cream. LOL)  The box said “Frosty frozen treats in 20 minutes!” Between you & I, I am going to call a big fat, whopping, hurking load of B.S. to THAT nonsense right here & now. Not ONE recipe in the book the machine maker provided offered a recipe that could be ready in 20 minutes. NOT ONE. Yeah, I was a tad irritated by that. LOL!

Sooooo, fine! I will play their silly little game and test out the new machine with one of the recipes in the book. Only, by now, you are starting to realize I never really cook recipes exactly as they as written, so I’m giving you the instructions of how I made it, not how it was written originally. HAHAHAHA!  😛  Now, it should be noted here that the prep time was about 5 minutes, the cooking time (yes, you read that right: cooking time – it’s a frozen treat, there should be no cooking required my stubborn brain insists!) anyways, that was about 20 minutes, the mixture had to then cool in the fridge for about two hours. Then I FINALLY, FINALLY! got to add the mixture to the canister I’d prepped in the deep freezer the prior 24 hours. The machine did it’s work in about 35-40 minutes, and then the whole batch had to “ripen” in the freezer for another 2 hours.  I don’t know if you’re keeping track here, but from the moment I opened my box with the intention of making ice cream to the moment we all actually got to roll our eyes in heavenly oblivion, a whopping 27 hours had passed. Let me just say by the time I closed my lips around that spoon I was ready to swear off making ice cream recipes that required cooking for all time. That is, until my taste buds actually came in contact with the ice cream we actually made. I will still search for other no-cook ice cream recipes, or maybe even simpler ones to try in the machine so we don’t have to wait 27 hours for a batch of pure decadence, but for the days we feel like taking a side trip floating on clouds of decadence and supreme taste-bud heaven, I will be making the following ice cream recipe:

Be warned: this is not waistline friendly, but damn it’s good. SO good, that my younger son Garrett said it rivals Stone Cold ice cream. Yeah. You read that right.  Enjoy!

2 c. Whole Milk

2 c. Heavy Cream

1 c. Granulated Sugar (divided in half)

1 pinch salt

1 whole Vanilla Bean, halved & seeds scraped

5 large Egg Yolks (no whites)

1 1/2 tspns pure Vanilla Extract

  1. In a medium saucepan set over medium-low heat, whisk together the milk, cream, half of the sugar, salt and the scraped vanilla bean (including the pod). Bring the mixture just to a boil.
  2. While the milk/cream mixture is heating, combine the yolks and remaining sugar in a medium bowl. Using a hand mixer on low speed (or a whisk), beat until mixture is pale and thick.
  3. Once the milk/cream mixture has come to a slight boil, whisk about 1/3 of the hot mixture into the yolk/sugar mixture. Add another 1/3 of the mixture, then return the combined mixture to the saucepan. Using a wooden spoon, stire the mixture constantly over the low heat until it thickens slightly and coats the back of the spoon. This mixture must NOT boil or the yolks will overcook – the process should only take a few minutes.
  4. Remove from heat, discard the vanilla pod and bring to room temperature. Stir in the vanilla extract. Cover and refrigerate 1-2 hours until completely cool.
  5. Turn on your ice cream maker, pour the mixture in, and let mix until thickened per your machine’s instructions.*  The ice cream will have a soft, creamy texture. If a firmer consistency is desired, transfer the ice cream to an airtight container and place in your freezer for at least 2 hours to allow the ice cream to “ripen” and firm up. * I wanted to note here that my machine’s instructions indicated it should be at this point by 20 minutes… it wasn’t. It took more like 35 minutes to reach that ultra-dreamy phase. You’re looking for soft-serve ice cream consistency (or firmer) BEFORE you pop it in the freezer.
  6. Wait. Wait some more. This is the hard part. Wait some more.
  7. SERVE! (add fresh berries if you have them or any other treat you like)
2 comments on “Ice Cream on par with Stone Cold…

Leave a Reply

