Mediterranean Chicken

This is a crockpot meal… I don’t know about you but I *LOVE* cooking with my crockpot on busy nights. I’ve been cooking a lot of mediterranean food lately… must be a phase I’m in, but it’s expanding my cooking “daring” quite a bit. I started with a basic recipe, and in my usual manner I did the “this looks and smells good but I think I know how to really kick it into overdrive for the tastebuds”… and sure enough, we ended up with a dish that just rocked the socks off my oldest daughter who was visiting & the rest of the family. What follows is how I cooked it; try this one, it was a yummy change and surprised even my picky kidlets and hubby! 🙂

We’re cooking MEDITERRANEAN CHICKEN today.

Ingredients:

  • 1 yellow onion, thinly chopped
  • 14 oz. jar marinated artichoke hearts, drained
  • 14 oz. can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 can corn, drained
  • 1 can olives, drained and chopped
  • 6 Tblspn. red wine vinegar
  • 2 tspn minced garlic
  • 1/2 tspn. black pepper
  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves
  • 1 tspn. garlic & herb Mrs. Dash
  • 1 tspn. herbs de provence
  • 1/2 c. sour cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 packet Knorr Parma Rosa Sauce mix (dry)
  • 1/2 c. shredded parmesan cheese (divided in half)
  • 1/4 c. grated 3 cheese blend (pecorino romano, parmesan, asiago) You can get this at Albertson’s or Kroger stores.

Instructions:

  1. Combine all ingredients except the chicken, 1/4 cup shredded parmesan cheese, and packet of Knorr Parma Rosa. Mix all the ingredients together with a fork.
  2. Place chicken in cooker, pushing down into vegetables and sauce until it’s about half buried. Sprinkle the top of the chicken with the Parma Rosa packet & finish pressing down into the vegetables until it’s as covered as possible.
  3. Cover, and cook on low 4-6 hours in the crockpot.
  4. Serve over toasted baguette bread OR serve over noodles of your choice boiled & strained separately.

Destiny said to tell you it’s not just good, it’s “O”h my gosh good… LOL! I don’t know that I’d go quite that far but it is pretty spectacular & beats trying to figure out what to make for dinner at the last minute on a night we have parent meetings, scout night, cheerleading practice or any other number of things. 🙂

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

